January 27, 2016

RHTLaw Taylor Wessing ranked in Asian Legal Business 2016 CSR List

RHTLaw Taylor Wessing is one of the 25 law firms in Asia recognised as a Firm passionate in playing their part as a good corporate citizen by Asian Legal Business (ALB) in 2016. Only three other Singaporean firms were on the list. RHTLaw Taylor Wessing was also recognised in 2015. ALB highlighted the Firm’s active role in fundraising, participating in legal aid clinics and donation drives. This announcement further reinforces the great work done by the RHT Rajan Menon Foundation. The Foundation’s mission is to provide a framework, platform and channel for corporate social responsibility initiatives and activities.
January 26, 2016

RHTLaw Taylor Wessing Chairman Professor Walter Woon SC featured in the National University of Singapore’s News Highlights

RHTLaw Taylor Wessing Chairman Professor Walter Woon SC, was featured in an article in the National University of Singapore’s (NUS) News Highlights segment titled “ASEAN Needs rules-based culture”. The article highlighted Professor Woon’s speaking engagement at the David Marshall Lecture titled “Building Rules-Based ASEAN Community: Strengthening the Centre” where he shared his first-hand experience as a Singapore representative drafting the ASEAN charter. Honourable guests who attended the event included Professor Jayakumar, former Deputy Prime Minister, and Chairman  of NUS Law Advisory Council and CIL; Professor Tommy Koh, Singapore’s Ambassador-at-Large and CIL Chairman; and Mr George Yeo, former Singapore Foreign Affairs Minister. The full article dated 26 November 2015 can be found here on the NUS website.
January 25, 2016

RHTLaw Taylor Wessing ranked in World Trademark Review 1000 (2016 edition)

RHTLaw Taylor Wessing was awarded a silver ranking for its Prosecution and Strategy expertise while Head of Intellectual Property & Technology, Jonathan Kok was ranked as a Recommended Individual in the Singapore section of the World Trademark Review 1000 (WTR 1000). WTR 1000 describes RHTLaw Taylor Wessing as a “go-to destination for brand owners seeking counsel on potentially lucrative licensing and franchising matters. Media and entertainment concerns are big fans, while food and beverage mark holders swear by its forward-looking guidance. Top designers such as Christopher Guy likewise appreciate the firm’s portfolio management abilities.” Additionally, WTR 1000 reports Jonathan Kok as a “silver-tongued negotiator who can shepherd the most complex deals to close, another go-to guy out east. He is known to maximise the impact of brands throughout Asia-Pacific." WTR 1000 is the only standalone research directory to focus exclusively on trademark practices and practitioners. It has firmly established itself as the definitive resource for those seeking legal trademark expertise. The full rankings can be viewed here.
January 6, 2016

RHTLaw Taylor Wessing launches the inaugural RHT Subhas Anandan Bursary Award

RHTLaw Taylor Wessing, in conjunction with the RHT Group of Companies, launched the inaugural RHT Subhas Anandan Bursary Award Ceremony today, 6 January 2015, at its premises. The event was attended by Consultants and Partners of the firm, the award recipients and their families, the media as well as members of Subhas Anandan’s family – his wife Vimala Anandan, son Sujesh Anandan and sister Sugadha Anandan.    As a tribute to its late Senior Partner – Singapore’s most illustrious criminal lawyer – and his honourable work, the RHT Subhas Anandan Bursary Award was launched to assist the children of the staff of RHTLaw Taylor Wessing and the RHT Group of Companies to meet their basic schooling expenses.    The inaugural bursary award ceremony began with a video tribute to the “legal legend” followed by a speech delivered by Senior Partner Mr Rajan Menon. In his speech, Mr Menon fondly recalled Subhas’ kind and giving nature in person and in the courtroom, describing him “as a man of integrity (with) boundless energy, passion, compassion, generosity and a staunch defender of the Rule of Law”.    The recipients of the RHT Subhas Anandan Bursary Awards are:   1. Kwek Ying Sui, Primary 4 2. Muhd Naasiruddin B Muhammad Zakkaria, Secondary 4 3. Abdul Khair B Muhammed Zakkaria, Institute of Technical Education (ITE) 4. Muhd Irfan N Muhammed Zakkaria, Primary 6 5. Janessa Tan Yi Ling, Primary 6 6. Lucus Tan Yi Jie – Kindergarten 1    Initiated by the Partners of the firm, RHTLaw Taylor Wessing is honoured that the late Mr Subhas has allowed the Firm to remember him and his charitable ways by naming this annual bursary award after him.   This annual bursary award is open to students ranging from local pre-school to university and underpins the firm’s desire to focus on inspiring young people and helping them identify their passion and natural skills.